Amnesty International: Chimes of Freedom – The Songs of Bob Dylan

In 1962, Amnesty International evolved from a one-year campaign to free political prisoners into a worldwide movement fighting for justice, freedom and human dignity; today the organization has more than three million supporters in 150 countries.  In March of that same year Bob Dylan’s debut album was released, launching an unparalleled recording career.

It is for this reason that it seems fitting that to celebrate the 50th anniversary and life-saving human rights activism of Nobel Peace Prize-winning Amnesty International with 80 musician’s saluting the incomparable artistry of Bob Dylan. A varied array of artists have contributed new or previously unreleased recordings for this incredible release, Chimes of Freedom: The Songs of Bob Dylan Honouring 50 Years of Amnesty International.

Chimes of Freedom features a stellar and diverse group of artists across the generational and musical spectrum, which attests to Amnesty’s depth of support in the music community, the universal appeal of the core message of human rights, and the breadth of Dylan’s impact on culture.

Through Chimes of Freedom, Amnesty International seeks to enlist support for its fight against censorship and attacks on free speech – whether involving artists, writers, musicians, political activists or bloggers. In this campaign, Amnesty is fighting for people such as the imprisoned Nobel Prize winner Liu Xiaobo in China, a scholar and human rights defender imprisoned since 2009 for writing about corruption and criticizing China’s political system.  In addition to purchasing the album at, supporters will find actions they can take to help individuals whose freedom of expression is under threat.

Chimes of Freedom is Executive Produced by legendary music executive Jeff Ayeroff and Julie Yannatta, who spearheadedInstant Karma: The Amnesty International Campaign to Save Darfur – a 2007 collection of John Lennon solo compositions performed by major artists including U2, Green Day, and R.E.M.

“This album is a powerful fusion of the music community’s respect for Amnesty’s life-affirming work and for Bob Dylan’s enduring brilliance,” said Ayeroff and Yannatta.  “We are proud to have worked with Amnesty to produce this remarkable project.”

The collection is scheduled for physical (4 discs) release on Friday February 3 in Australia through Fontana International, a Universal Music company.

The track listing for Chimes of Freedom: The Songs of Bob Dylan Honouring 50 Years of Amnesty International is as follows:

CD1 ?

  1. Raphael Saadiq ‘Leopard-Skin Pill-Box Hat’
  2. Patti Smith Drifter’s ‘Escape’
  3. Rise Against ‘Ballad of Hollis Brown’
  4. Tom Morello The Nightwatchman ‘Blind Willie McTell’
  5. Pete Townshend ‘Corrina, Corrina’
  6. Bettye LaVette ‘Most of the Time’
  7. Charlie Winston ‘This Wheel’s On Fire’
  8. Diana Krall ‘Simple Twist of Fate’
  9. Brett Dennen ‘You Ain’t Goin’ Nowhere’
  10. Mariachi El Bronx ‘Love Sick’
  11. Ziggy Marley ‘Blowin’ in the Wind’
  12. ?The Gaslight Anthem ‘Changing of the Guards’
  13. Silversun Pickups ‘Not Dark Yet’
  14. ?My Morning Jacket ‘You’re A Big Girl Now’
  15. The Airborne Toxic Event ‘Boots of Spanish Leather’
  16. Sting ‘Girl from the North Country’
  17. Mark Knopfler ‘Restless Farewell’

CD2 ?

  1. Queens Of The Stone Age ‘Outlaw Blues’
  2. Lenny Kravitz ‘Rainy Day Woman # 12 & 35’
  3. Steve Earle & Lucia Micarelli ‘One More Cup of Coffee’ (Valley Below)
  4. Blake Mills ‘Heart Of Mine’
  5. Miley Cyrus ‘You’re Gonna Make Me Lonesome When You Go’
  6. Billy Bragg ‘Lay Down Your Weary Tune’
  7. Elvis Costello ‘License to Kill’
  8. Angelique Kidjo ‘Lay, Lady, Lay’
  9. Natasha Bedingfield ‘Ring Them Bells’
  10. Jackson Browne ‘Love Minus Zero/No Limit’
  11. Joan Baez ‘Seven Curses’ (Live)
  12. The Belle Brigade ‘No Time To Think’
  13. Sugarland ‘Tonight I’ll Be Staying Here With You’ (Live)
  14. Jack’s Mannequin ‘Mr. Tambourine Man’
  15. Oren Lavie ‘4th Time Around’
  16. Sussan Deyhim ‘All I Really Want To Do’
  17. Adele ‘Make You Feel My Love’ (Recorded Live at WXPN)


  1. K’NAAN ‘With God On Our Side’
  2. Ximena Sariñana ‘I Want You’
  3. Neil Finn with Pajama Club ‘She Belongs to Me’
  4. Bryan Ferry ‘Bob Dylan’s Dream’
  5. Zee Avi ‘Tomorrow Is A Long Time’
  6. Carly Simon ‘Just Like a Woman’
  7. Flogging Molly ‘The Times They Are A-Changin’
  8. Fistful Of Mercy ‘Buckets Of Rain’
  9. Joe Perry ‘Man Of Peace’
  10. Bad Religion ‘It’s All Over Now, Baby Blue’
  11. My Chemical Romance ‘Desolation Row’ (Live)
  12. RedOne featuring Nabil Khayat ‘Knockin’ on Heaven’s Door’
  13. Paul Rodgers & Nils Lofgren ‘Abandoned Love’
  14. Darren Criss featuring Chuck Criss and Freelance Whales ‘New Morning’
  15. Cage the Elephant ‘The Lonesome Death of Hattie Carroll’
  16. Band of Skulls ‘It Ain’t Me, Babe’
  17. Sinéad O’Connor ‘Property of Jesus’
  18. Ed Roland and The Sweet Tea Project ‘Shelter From The Storm’
  19. Ke$ha ‘Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right’
  20. Kronos Quartet ‘Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right’


  1. ?Maroon 5 ‘I Shall Be Released’
  2. Carolina Chocolate Drops ‘Political World’
  3. Seal & Jeff Beck ‘Like A Rolling Stone’
  4. Taj Mahal ‘Bob Dylan’s 115th Dream’
  5. Dierks Bentley ‘Senor (Tales of Yankee Power)’ (Live)
  6. Mick Hucknall ‘One Of Us Must Know (Sooner Or Later)’
  7. Thea Gilmore ‘I’ll Remember You’
  8. State Radio ‘John Brown’
  9. Dave Matthews Band ‘All Along the Watchtower’ (Live)
  10. Michael Franti ‘Subterranean Homesick Blues’
  11. We Are Augustines ‘Mama, You Been On My Mind’
  12. Lucinda Williams ‘Tryin’ To Get To Heaven’
  13. Kris Kristofferson ‘Quinn The Eskimo (The Mighty Quinn)’
  14. Eric Burdon ‘Gotta Serve Somebody’
  15. Evan Rachel Wood ‘I’d Have You Anytime’
  16. Marianne Faithfull ‘Baby Let Me Follow You Down’ (Live)
  17. Pete Seeger ‘Forever Young’
  18. Bob Dylan ‘Chimes Of Freedom’


  • Outernational ‘When The Ship Comes In’
  • Silverstein ‘Song To Woody’
  • Daniel Bedingfield ‘Man In The Long Black Coat

About Graham Porter

Founder of YMR and has been trying to make a difference for unsigned, up and coming artists and all things great in music since 2011.

One thought on “Amnesty International: Chimes of Freedom – The Songs of Bob Dylan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *