The Smashing Pumpkins – Remastered Release of Gish & Siamese Dream

The Smashing Pumpkins, through EMI Music are due to release remastered versions of their first two groundbreaking albums ‘Gish’ and ‘Siamese Dream’.

I remember the first time I heard ‘Siamese Dream’. My mate and I sneaked into his house after a very late night out on the town to play the album when his parents were asleep upstairs. On first listen it was a complete contradiction of an act. How could we play such a great album so quietly? After that I had to go out and buy it the next day and the memory of this album lives on.

On November 29 in North America and December 5 internationally, EMI Music will launch an extensive campaign honoring the legacy of THE SMASHING PUMPKINS by reissuing the iconic alternative band’s first two albums–GISH (1991) and SIAMESE DREAM (1993), certified platinum and 4X platinum respectively–in CD, deluxe 2CD/DVD, vinyl LP, and digital configurations. Both albums, each with bonus content and special features that were curated from the band’s archives by founding member Billy Corgan, have been painstakingly remastered for the first time from the original master tapes by Bob Ludwig. *See all track listings below.

With the full support and guidance from THE SMASHING PUMPKINS–who’ve created one of the most acclaimed bodies of work in musical history, selling over 30 million albums–EMI’s global catalog reissue campaign will last through 2013; it will encompass all the band’s albums and B-sides from 1991-2000, with other release dates to be announced. The pivotal group’s many hits defined the alternative music era and continue to resonate on modern rock radio, influencing a whole new generation. Gish highlights include “I Am One,” “Siva” and “Rhinoceros,” while Siamese Dream features “Cherub Rock,” “Today” and “Disarm.” Both groundbreaking albums were produced by Butch Vig and Billy Corgan.

As THE SMASHING PUMPKINS get the fully remastered treatment via these reissues, the band is excited to be moving forward by creating new music. After touring America and Europe this fall–the trek launched October 5 in Los Angeles and wraps December 8 in Lisbon–they will release OCEANIA, “an album within an album,” as part of their in-progress 44-song work TEARGARDEN BY KALEIDYSCOPE. Featuring 13 new songs, OCEANIA will be released in early 2012 (further details TBA).

For the GISH and SIAMESE DREAM liner notes, Billy Corgan was interviewed by journalist/author David Wild. Corgan reflects on why these albums were hard-won triumphs for the band and discusses the origins of the songs.

In the SIAMESE DREAM liner notes, Corgan says: “We start the album out with ‘Cherub Rock’ which is basically my big F.U. to the indie world. If you read the lyrics, that was basically me railing against the hipper than thou New York indie mentality.”

Special features for both reissues include:

Deluxe versions of Gish and Siamese Dream will each include a bonus disc of rare and previously unreleased audio content.

Deluxe versions of Gish and Siamese Dream also contain a never-before-released live show from the Metro in Chicago on DVD. The 10-song live show in the Gish package is from 8/25/90; the 17-song live show in the Siamese Dream package is from 8/14/93. Both DVDs feature introductions by Joe Shanahan, owner of the Metro in Chicago.

The Gish bonus disc will include brand new Butch Vig mixes of the original Sub Pop single tracks “Tristessa” and “La Dolly Vita.”

Vinyl has been mastered specifically for the format.

Housed in special lift-top box packaging, the deluxe versions feature liner notes and track by track commentary from Billy Corgan, never-before-seen collages and photos, postcards and more.


Disc 1:

1. I am one

2. Siva

3. Rhinoceros

4. Bury me

5. Crush

6. Suffer

7. Snail

8. Tristessa

9. Window paine

10. Daydream

Disc 2:

1. Starla (2011 mix)

2. Siva (Peel session)*

3. Honeyspider (Reel Time demos / 2011 mix)

4. Hippy Trippy (Crush Music Box demo)

5. Snail (live radio performance)

6. Plume (2011 mix)

7. Bury Me (Reel Time demos / 2011 mix)

8. Daydream (Old House demo)

9. Tristessa (Sub Pop single / 2011 mix)

10. Girl Named Sandoz (Peel session)*

11. Jesus Is The Sun (Apartment demo)

12. Blue (Gish sessions demo)

13. Smiley (Gish sessions demo)

14. I Am One (Reel Time demos / 2011 mix)

15. Seam (Suffer / Apartment demo)

16. La Dolly Vita (2011 mix)

17. Pulseczar (Gish sessions demo)*

18. Drown (alternate guitar solo)

All songs previously unreleased except where indicated.*


Live at The Metro, Chicago, IL 8/25/90


1. I am one

2. Snail

3. Rhinoceros

4. Bury Me

5. Tristessa

6. Window Paine

7. Razor

8. Sookie Sookie

9. Godzilla

10. Crush – Acoustic


Disc 1:

1. Cherub rock

2. Quiet

3. Today

4. Hummer

5. Rocket

6. Disarm

7. Soma

8. Geek U.S.A

9. Mayonaise

10. Spaceboy

11. Silverfuck

12. Sweet sweet

13. Luna

Disc 2:

1. Pissant (siamese sessions rough mix)

2. Siamese dream (broadway rehearsals demo)

3. STP (rehearsal demo)

4. Frail and bedazzled (soundworks demo)

5. Luna (apartment demo)

6. Quiet (bbc session/bc mix)

7. Moleasskiss (soundworks demo)

8. Hello kitty kat (soundworks demo)

9. Today (broadway rehearsal demo)

10. Never let me down again (bbc session)*

11. Apathy’s last kiss (siamese sessions rough mix)

12. Ache (silverfuck rehearsal demo)

13. U.S.A. (soundworks demo)

14. U.S.S.R. (soundworks demo)

15. Spaceboy (acoustic mix)

16. Rocket (rehearsal demo)

17. Disarm (acoustic mix)

18. Soma (instrumental mix)

All songs previously unreleased except where indicated.*


Live At The Metro, Chicago, 8/14/93


1. Rocket

2. Quiet

3. Today

4. Rhinoceros

5. Geek U.S.A.

6. Soma

7. I am one

8. Disarm

9. Spaceboy

10. Starla

11. Cherub rock

12. Bury me

13. Hummer

14. Siva

15. Mayonaise

16. Drown

17. Silverfuck!/billy

About Graham Porter

Founder of YMR and has been trying to make a difference for unsigned, up and coming artists and all things great in music since 2011.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *